Porsche motorsport

Every vehicle that bears the Porsche crest on its bonnet is rooted in the tradition of the legendary racing cars that have demonstrated Porsche’s brand values with impressive victories on every racing course in the world since 1949. A total of well over 30,000 race victories, including sixteen manufacturer and team world championships, three Formula One World Drivers’ Champion titles (as an engine supplier), as well as eleven Targa Florio and nineteen Le Mans overall victories is clear evidence for the sum of all of the characteristics and values for which Porsche is known.

After the Porsche 356 “No. 1” completed its demonstration lap at the Innsbruck city race in July 1948, it did not take long for it to start achieving its first racing successes, such as Otto Mathé’s victory at the International Alpine Rally in 1949. For the first time in 1953, the Zuffenhausen-based sports car manufacturer began developing a car designed specifically for racing: the Porsche 550 Spyder. This was followed by the 718 RS 60, which won the Targa Florio at its first appearance. The sixth overall victory at the Targa Florio was achieved four years later by one of the most beautiful Porsche racing sports cars, the 904 Carrera GTS.

This was followed by an almost unbroken sequence of legendary racing cars with numerous successes; driven by equally famous racing drivers at prominent races and rallies. Porsche won with spectacular designs, such as the 908 with its eight-cylinder flat engine, or the 917 with its air-cooled twelve-cylinder engine and up to 1,500 turbocharged horsepower. From the very beginning, the 911 also had to prove its performance in the field of motorsport. In 1965, Porsche put a practically standard 911 2.0 on the start line at the Monte Carlo Rally. In 1970, the 911 S scored its third successive double victory at the classic rally through the Maritime Alps. In 1984, Porsche won the Paris-Dakar Rally with the 911 Carrera 4x4, followed by the 959 two years later. On the race track, the 911 models and the 934 and 935 were among the vehicles that brought the Racing Series World Championship title to Zuffenhausen. Hybrid history was written by the Porsche 919, which won the 24 Hours of Le Mans three times in succession from 2015 – together with the Team and Drivers’ World Championship each time. And the next challenger is already in development – the Porsche for Formula E.