FIA World Endurance Championship WEC

Race series


For the upcoming season, the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) travels to tradition-steeped racetracks with a different calendar format. During the Super Season, which runs over 15 months from May, fans are treated to the Le Mans and Spa long-distance classics twice, while Silverstone, Fuji, Shanghai and Sebring host the race series only once.
In the GTE-Pro class, two Porsche 911 RSR fight for the FIA World Endurance Championship titles against tough competition from Aston Martin, BMW, Ferrari and Ford. Sharing the cockpit of the #91 car are Gianmaria Bruni (Italy) and Richard Lietz (Austria), with the #92 sister car manned by Michael Christensen (Denmark) and Kévin Estre (France). At Le Mans, these driver pairings received support from Fréderic Makowiecki (France) and Laurens Vanthoor (Belgium). Two other works cars were fielded at the legendary long-distance races: Patrick Pilet, Nick Tandy and Earl Bamber in the #93 contender and Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas and Sven Müller in the #93 Porsche 911 RSR. With Bamber, Bernhard, Dumas and Tandy, four outright Le Mans winners competed in the Porsche factory contingent. Including the customer teams, ten 911 RSR raced at Le Mans.

Spectator magnet

Since its launch in 2012, the Sports Car World Endurance Championship has enjoyed great popularity with over 600,000 spectators visiting the nine race weekends last year. The highlight is still the 24 Hours Le Mans: in 2017, 258,500 fans travelled to the race event in the northwest of France. Viewers are also kept up-to-date via TV and social media – an extensive package of TV and online broadcasts as well as comprehensive social media content underlines the sporting value of the world’s most important race series for sports cars.

The classes

Four classes in the World Endurance Championship attract capacity grids and a diverse range of vehicle models. While the LMP1 and LMP2 classes are reserved for sports prototypes, modified standard sports cars like the Porsche 911 RSR compete in the GTE-Pro and GTE-Am classes. The vehicles can only race in the latter category if they comply with the GTE-Pro homologation specifications of the previous year. In the GTE-Am class, the FIA regulations also stipulate that a crew of two or three drivers must include at least one bronze plus one bronze or silver driver.

The classifications

In the 2018/19 Super Season, the two most important titles in GT racing will be awarded: the Driver’s World Championship and Manufacturers’ World Championship. Points are awarded at each race according to the following system: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1. At the prestigious Le Mans 24-hour race the points are allocated as follows: 38-27-23-18-15-12-9-6-3-2. At Sebring, points are awarded for the top ten places in each class: 32-23-19-15-13-10-8-5-3-2. Like at Le Mans, one point is given to all drivers and teams who reach the finish after the tenth place-getter. For pole position, one point is awarded in each category for the team and the driver.

The 2018/2019 races

05 May 2018 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps
16/17 June 2018 24 Hours of Le Mans
19 August 2018 6 Hours of Silverstone
14 October 2018 6 Hours of Fuji
18 November 2018 6 Hours of Shanghai
15/16 March 2019 1500 Miles of Sebring
04 May 2019 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps
15/16 June 2019 24 Hours of Le Mans

The Organisation

The Sports Car World Endurance Championship (WEC) is run with FIA as the governing body. The organiser is the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO).

World Endurance Championship
30 rue Galilée
75116 Paris

Press contacts

Fiona Miller
FIA WEC Media Manager
Mobile +44 7770 371332

Catherine Vatteoni
FIA WEC Communications Manager
Tel. +33 6 81 50 55 65

Sam Smith
FIA WEC Press Officer

next page
IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship